I want an Edwardian aesthetic for Spring

Maybe it’s just because it’s been such a long winter. We started getting snow in mid-November and still are dipping below freezing some nights now, quite close to April. Autumn is normally my favorite season, but I am looking forward to spring so very much. I’ve been cleaning up my wardrobe as well, getting rid of things I don’t need and looking at what I would like to add to my collection.

Aesthetically, I have trouble with hot weather. I don’t like showing a lot of skin. I love layers and neutrals (usually black and grey). I like historically inspired looks. So what to do when everyone is running around in tiny denim shorts (imagine the chub rub) and open back sundresses? I’m looking for inspiration from the Edwardian era.

I often thought that the Regency era (think Jane Austen) was the ultimate springtime look– gauzy fabrics, Grecian drape, but I’ve been more attracted to structured garments lately with buttons, ties and late Victorian/turn of the century details. Besides, Haley Atwell looked absolutely stunning in Howard’s End:

It seems like a great way to connect my love of neutrals, layers, and little details with a more appropriate look for warm days. I’ve decided to start embracing the lighter end of the neutral spectrum. And lighter fabrics as well. Crisp blouses in gauzy fabrics are great for layering with cardigans, vests, and jackets during the transitional season. To me, it seems to be a balance between light and airy and well-structured. I need structure to keep from looking like a potato. Higher waist a-line skirts are my go to anyway which fits that silhouette. I’m still keeping it modern with knee length to mid-calf lengths for the most part.

Anyway, here are a few new (and new-ish) items I’ll be featuring in my wardrobe this spring:

The first image is a blouse I got on clearance at Anthropolgie for $22. Ridiculously cheap for that store and it actually closes over my chest. Practically a miracle. The black embroidery on the white cotton is an interesting detail and it’s fully lined (!) so it has more structure and isn’t sheer. I love the little fabric covered buttons too, a very period appropriate detail even if the tank-top shape is modern.

The next blouse is from ModCloth and it definitely is very sheer. But, with a nude bra or camisole underneath, it’s workable. It has a subtle striping in the weave and I love the little tie at the neck. The banded sleeves also have just a bit of poof. I was also able to get this on sale and with a coupon, so that made me happy. I’m sure as the hottest days of summer creep in, this filmy shirt will give me a put-together look without making me want to peel my skin off.

My skirt wardrobe is very reliable. In particular, I have three skirts I wear almost every week that are the exact same skirt in different colors: black, grey, and navy. Very capsule wardrobe. They fit well and look good with almost everything. But I wanted a little pop of color. This burgundy will still match plenty of things in my wardrobe, but will brighten things up. It’s also stunning color in general. It’s a cotton jersey knit (also from ModCloth, also on sale) which can be a bit too unstructured sometimes, but the thick waist band helps give it shape and the swishy-ness of the fabric is very pleasant. It falls just a few inches under the knee which gives a long graceful line, but isn’t so long it will snag on everything. I hope. And it has pockets.

Yes, I know: jeans are not Edwardian in the least. However, this is 2019 and a good pair of jeans can be nearly as useful as a little black dress in our modern society. These are a little more casual, with some whiskering and distressing, but they fit well and are actually very flattering (my prejudice against whiskering on denim was perhaps misplaced all these year…). They are from Kut from the Kloth, a brand I first discovered via StitchFix about 2 years ago. My original pair has been worn to death so I was very pleased to discover the exact cut, Catherine Boyfriend, 60% off at Nordstrom Rack. I’m going to wear these for all sorts of outdoor activities where a skirt might get in the way or get damaged.

I’ve actually had this vest for a few months and have loved layering with it through the winter. In these early, still chilly, days of spring I’m continuing to layer it and use it to give that figure framing structure to more flowy outfits. It fit great right out of the box and I love the style of menswear inspired pieces cut to a woman’s shape. I think that keeps within the Edwardian spirit very well and the heavy tweed fabric is era appropriate. I bought it on sale from Mod Cloth and then combined it with a 30% coupon and patted myself on the back because I had been eyeing it for some time but thought it was a little expensive.

This was another winter acquisition from ModCloth with my 30% off coupon. It’s a shirt dress with a charming stripe and dot motif. It sounds like it’s going to be too much pattern, but the stripes are very subtle and from a distance, undetectable. It’s a pale mauve color and the dots are Swiss dot– they are 3D and a little fuzzy. I love subtle little details that draw you in– I’m not one for bold screaming colors, accents, and patterns in an outfit. That’s just not me. But this subtle feminine/masculine style hits the notes I’m going for stylistically. It’s a little big in the waist, but a belt adds visual interest and shows off my shape. The vest also pairs very well with this dress in spite of the pattern mash-up.

I have so many cardigans and all of them are getting trotted out during the transitional weather. I just wanted to highlight this particular one from Target. It’s a classic scoop neck cardigan in a very light weight. I chose this lavender color because I thought it would complement the cream and light blue cardigans I wear a lot in spring. I also was very charmed by the weave pattern around the button placket (with more similar detail in the sleeve, not pictured here). Again, those tiny details are very much my aesthetic.

I was drawn to this blouse for 2 reasons: it was $10, but also it’s a crisp cotton/linen blend in an almost nautical style. Almost. The slightly ruffled sleeves and notched neckline give it a fun, summery shape and the blue stripes keep things from getting boring. I love the natural fibers, which will be so light and breathable when it gets hot. Linen will make things get a bit wrinkly, but on sale for $10 at Old Navy means I can handle getting the iron out from time to time.

So, what do you think? My frugal wardrobe update (is it an update if I’m inspired by a style over 100 years old?) has me feeling ready for the warm weather. What are you inspired by this spring season?

Leave a comment